Connect with us

Work in Canada

Know How Canada’s New NOC will affect Express Entry Eligibility?

Margaret Cooley



Know How Canada’s New NOC will affect Express Entry Eligibility

NOC 2021 is nearing the end with each passing month and will come into effect in November 2022. A total of 16 occupations will become eligible for Express Entry, and the new update from the internal briefing memo suggest that three of them will become ineligible. Currently, IRCC uses to regulate the eligibility of occupations under its temporary and permanent residency programs. Although, IRCC may move to NOC 2021 starting in November 2022 as per Canadian law.

The NOC is managed by Employment and Social Development Canada and Statistics Canada, which changes the system every 10 years. The Canada’s new NOC will comprise of latest terminology and a revised classification structure.

The following 16 occupations will become eligible under Express Entry in respect of the Canada’s new NOC changes.

  • Payroll administrators;
  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;
  • Nurse aides, orderlies, and patient service associates;
  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;
  • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants;
  • Sheriffs and bailiffs;
  • Correctional service officers;
  • By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers;
  • Estheticians, electrologists, and related occupations;
  • Residential and commercial installers and servicers;
  • Pest controllers and fumigators;
  • Other repairers and services;
  • Transport truck drivers;
  • Bus drivers, subway operators, and other transit operators;
  • Heavy equipment operators; and
  • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.

    There will also be three occupations that will become ineligible, including:
  • other performers;
  • program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport, and fitness; and
  • tailors, dressmakers, furriers, and milliners.
See also  Canada Start-Up Visa for International Students

The most significant change to NOC 2021 is that the four-category “skill level” structure will be fixed and replaced by a new six-category system. The latest system outlines the level of Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities (TEER) required to qualify for each occupation.

The last NOC comprises four skill levels. NOC A includes jobs that require university degrees, NOC B comprised jobs that required a college diploma or in the skilled trades, NOC C involved jobs with intermediate skills or job-specific training, and NOC D was for labour jobs that require on-the-job training.

Here’s the preview of the new TEER structure:

NOC 2016NOC 2021
Skill Type 0TEER 0
Skill Level ATEER 1
Skill Level BTEER 2
Skill Level BTEER 3
Skill Level CTEER 4
Skill Level DTEER 5

The latest NOC 2021 will be in effect from November and will use a five-tier hierarchical system to classify occupations. Also, going forward occupations will have a five-digit codification system.

The new TEER system will have ix categories, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. Statistics Canada states that there are two reasons why they have replaced the model with the TEER system. First and foremost, to offer more clarity on the education level and work experience required in an occupation. Second, the skill type generates artificial categorization between low and high-skilled jobs.

See also  Canada's Immigrants See Better Job-Education Alignment


PNP Draws & Updates

British ColumbiaJuly 971 invitations
OntarioJuly 91,666 invitations
QuebecJuly 81,528 invitations
ManitobaJuly 4126 invitations
British ColumbiaJuly 376 invitations
Check Out the Full List of PNP Draws➜

Canada Immigration News Podcast


Recent Express Entry Draws

DrawNumber Of InvitationsMinimum CRS Points
303 (PNP)1,391670
302 (French-Language)3,200420
301 (Healthcare)3,750445
300 (Trade Occupation)1800436
299 (PNP)920739
All Express Entry Draw Results ➜


Trending Searches